Delhi Election Results 2020: Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi P (AAP) had a landslide victory, winning 62 of the 70 seats in the Delhi assembly in the face of a high-voltage campaign by the BJP

Arvind Kejriwal, who returned to power in Delhi with his stunning election victory, will take oath as the Chief Minister of Delhi for the third consecutive term on Sunday, February 16. The oath-taking ceremony will take place at Ramlila Maidan. Mr. Kejriwal will be sworn in along with his team of ministers.

“We will be holding the oath-taking ceremony on Sunday at 10 am… Everyone in Delhi is invited to come and bless their son, their brother, Arvind Kejriwal and take an oath for a better Delhi,” AAP leader Manish Sisodia said during a press conference along with Mr. Kejriwal.

Mr. Kejriwal, 51, met Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal this morning. The meeting at Lieutenant Governor’s residence lasted for around 15 minutes. Sources said the two discussed the oath-taking ceremony which could take place over the weekend. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief also met the party MLAs today. The legislators then elected him as the leader of the legislative party. After this, he will stake claim to form the government.

Ahead of the oath, as per procedure, Mr. Kejriwal is also likely to give his resignation to pave the way for his fresh swearing-in as the Chief Minister.

The BJP was confined to a single-digit score, 8 seats, but an improvement on its 2015 tally of three. The opposition and AAP hailed the mandate as one against the divisive campaign of the BJP. Mr. Kejriwal had steered clear of controversy, focussing instead on bread-and-butter issues like power and water, education, health, and environment. The Congress, which ruled Delhi for 15 years till 2013, won zero seats.

Mr. Kejriwal had said the AAP’s victory signaled the victory of a “new kind of politics”. “People of Delhi have given a message that they will vote for schools, mohalla clinics, 24-hour electricity, and free water. This is a great message for the country,” he said on Tuesday evening, addressing a huge crowd at the AAP office.

In the 2013 elections, after the Delhi Legislative Assembly was delivered with a hung verdict, the Congress party extended support to Kejriwal and he was sworn in as the CM. Kejriwal, however, resigned after 49 days. The next assembly elections in the national capital took place in February 2015 and Kejriwal’s AAP registered a landslide victory. The AAP won 67 of the 70 Assembly seats. He took oath as the CM of Delhi again on February 14 at the Ramlila Maidan.

This election, people of Delhi overwhelmingly voted in favor of Kejriwal. The AAP retained the power with 62 seats while the BJP won just eight seats. The Congress party drew a blank again and also suffered a major dent in its vote share.

The oath-taking ceremony will take place in the afternoon which will be attended by a galaxy of opposition leaders. Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Kejriwal. It is not clear whether Ministers will also take oath along with Kejriwal.

As per the rule, the Council of Ministers in Delhi can’t consist of more than 10 percent of the total number of members in the Legislative Assembly. The Delhi Legislative Assembly has 70 seats and the Union Territory can have a maximum of seven Ministers including the CM.

Also Read: Delhi Election 2020: AAP’s Hattrick Victory: Bags 62 seats out of 70