Bank holidays: The private and government banks will remain closed for a total of 15 days in August, according to the holiday calendar of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). This includes Sunday and the second and fourth Saturday as well as the total number of leaves for lenders that will send the banks on a long holiday. These holidays will not be applicable throughout the country but in a few states. Reportedly, the banking services will be shut for 7 days, which would be the usual weekends, meanwhile, eight more offs will be a part of the RBI-listed holidays which includes the festivals. 

Banks will remain closed for 15 days in August

According to the holiday calendar of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), banks will be closed for 6 days due to Sunday and the second and fourth Saturday in August. Similarly, banks will remain closed for another 9 days. Although these other holidays will not be across the country but will be different in different places. In this way, the banks will not work for a total of 15 days. Here is when and where the banks will remain closed.

List of Bank Holidays in August 2021

Weekly offs

  • 1 August – Sunday
  • 8 August – Sunday
  • 14 August – Second Saturday
  • 15 August – Sunday
  • 22 August – Sunday
  • 28 August – Fourth Saturday
  • 29 August – Sunday

Festival offs

  • 16 August – Parsi New Year for Nagpur, Belapur, Mumbai in Maharashtra State
  • 19 August – Muharram
  • 20 August – Muharram and First Onam in Kochi, Bengaluru, Chennai, and Kerala
  • 21 August – Thiruvonam in Kochi, Kerala
  • 23 August – Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti in Kochi, Kerala
  • 30 August – Janmashtami
  • 31 August – Shri Krishna Ashtami in Hyderabad.

The Parse New Year (Shahenshahi), August 16, 2021, will be a banking vacation in Bellapur, Mumbai, and Nagpur. On August 19, 2021, there will be bank closures in Agartara, Ahmedabad, Bellapur, Bhopal, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna, Riples, Ranch and Srinagar. Muharram (Ashoora).

The RBI puts its holiday list under three brackets – Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, and Banks’ Closing of Accounts. The bank holidays are listed by the Central government, state governments, and union territories (UTs) under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881.