The Indian government has restored 5-year e-tourist visa, suspended since March 2020, to nationals of 156 countries with immediate effect, news agency PTI reported quoting officials.

Furthermore, the government informed that long duration (10 years) regular tourist visa is restored for USA, Japan nationals.

The 5-year visit visa is a tourist visa granted to foreign nationals who wish to visit India for continuous trips, and is valid for 5 years. The maximum number of days that a foreign national can stay in India is 90 days per visit. However, the applicant bearing the 5-year visa can make multiple entries in India.

Tourist visa facility was partially restored from October last year for foreigners who want to come here on chartered flights or on air bubble flights.

Nationals of these 156 countries will also be eligible for issuance of fresh e-tourist visa as per the Visa Manual, 2019. Currently valid regular (paper) tourist visa with validity of 5 years, issued to foreign nationals of all countries, which remained suspended since March 2020, will stand restored.

Fresh regular (paper) tourist visa up to five years validity will also be issued to the nationals of the eligible countries subject to the restrictions imposed from time to time, the official said.

The foreign nationals on tourist and e-tourist visas will be able to enter into India only through designated Sea Immigration Check Posts (IPs) or Airport ICPs by flights, including those under the ‘Vande Bharat Mission or ‘air bubble’ scheme or by any flights as allowed by the DGCA or Ministry of Civil Aviation.

In no case, the foreign nationals will be allowed to enter through land border or riverine routes on tourist visa or e-tourist visa.

The government instructions will not be applicable to Afghanistan nationals who will continue to be governed by the separate instructions issued by the Union Home Ministry regarding grant of -e-Emergency X-Misc visa.